Spinning wheels

Hey people, another friendly update coming your way. I’ve done a handful in the past three months, so much to tell! The biggest change has been the addition of cycling into my training. Yes, you’re looking at the proud owner of a new trek domane 2.0. I’ve logged almost 700 miles in less than two months. Can you tell I love it yet? trek-domane-20-triple-2014-road-bike I call him…Andy. Inside joke!

Cycling has become another outlet for me to unleash my demons and bring me back to earth. And the awesome part is I’ve met some great people just riding in groups. At Goodales in Nashua they have groups riding out on a regular basis, so there’s no drought of social gatherings. Learning the ins and outs of group riding has been a blast too. Get this. When you’re riding in a peloton (french word for platoon) everyone carries the same load of work. You ride in a line similar to a congo line or Indian sprints. Each rider takes his turn cutting through the wind at the front while the riders behind sit back and draft with little effort. It’s a fun and interesting system. I now understand why cycling tours are formulaic and strategic. There’s plenty to uncover and learn. So on with the not-so-good news. I’m a crash/injury prone newbie and here’s your evidence:EXP0000 Left collarbone is broken…you should see the other guy

What?! Again? Another injury? I have good excuses. My friend Jack and I were descending a 10% grade traveling about 40mph, when we banked a right turn and an extraordinary gust of wind knocked me from the center of the road to the shoulder in a  matter of seconds. It was one of the moments of shear surprise with absolutely no control. Once my wheels touched gravel – I knew my fate was sealed. The big OH nooo! Sure enough, I blinked and I was laying on the ground. I stumbled to my feet and saw the blood on my leg already reaching my cleats. Frankly, I was relieved it was only scrapes until I began a damage control search and my shoulder felt…out of place.

Long story short, Jack and I rode to the middle of town to the cycling shop to center my front wheel. The owner commented on my shoulder saying he’s seen a lot of broken collarbones and popped shoulders, and that I definitely have one of those. At that moment in time, hearing that something was potentially broken made me groan in disappointment. In the prime of my training?! No way man!

Currently, I’m off the bike for 6 weeks, which is saddening. The good news is running will be happening in less than 3 weeks. Whatever lessens the chance of me getting hurt again I suppose.

I’ve got lots more in store running wise. On June 8th I’ll be racing at Mount Ascutney in Windsor, VT and on the 12th I’ll be doing the Hollis Fast 5k. More to come!

Leave a Reply

